Dear Dating:

Please consider this as my official resignation. I am no longer interested in being involved with your organization. I am tired of being the girl that has something that a complete stranger has to decide if he’s equipped to “deal with” when I didn’t ask to be born with it. I no longer want to be involved in something where I have to waste my time thinking and wondering if some guy is going to be interested or not. I have much better ways I can spend my time. I’m exhausted from being the girl that most guys just don’t seem to want. Yes, you’ve thrown some my way that were ok with my disability but they’ve turned out to be players or afraid of commitment, or just flat out disappeared without a trace. I’m through with believing that you are going to lead to any kind of fruitful result because the majority of my life has proven otherwise. I no longer have the faith to keep believing in the cliches you offer. There aren’t plenty of fish in the sea. The right one won’t come when I least expect it. There’s not someone out there for everyone…specifically me. It’s just not in the cards for me so I have to accept that.

I am smart, funny, attractive and caring. These qualities don’t seem to matter with anyone you try to set me up with though and when it’s not my disability that scares them away, it’s something else. So I’m tired of going through interview after interview trying to prove myself to someone. I’m tired of trying to sell myself or convince someone else that I’m worth being with. I’m expelling my energy in other much more productive ways. I’m going to travel. I’m going to spend time with my friends and family who love me and accept me for who I am. I’m going to do things on my own. I’m going to remain single and stop seeking something that I have to go through so much effort to try and find. It’s just not worth it.

I appreciate your understanding in this matter.

Sincerely,

Jackie


One thought on “Dear Dating:

Leave a comment