Post-Trip

Officially got back from Idaho on Wednesday of last week. It was an interesting trip. Definitely a vacation in the truest sense of the word. Stayed up late and slept a lot.

This blog isn’t going to be about that though. Traveling entails a lot of things, not just the destination. And for me, it entails even more than it does for most people. Because of my disease, travel can be a very tedious thing since I’m so weak and a lot of times when I ask for help, people look at me funny or don’t believe I really need help because I’m not in a wheelchair and if I’m standing stationary, you wouldn’t really know I had MD.

My last trip to Idaho went without a hitch. The Southwest crew couldn’t have been nicer and one attendant went so far as to personally carry my bag for me onto the plane. This time though, I was not greeted with that same kindness. On the flight home I was told attendants can’t help passengers with their baggage they can only “assist.” I even double checked with a staff member in the airport once I landed in Vegas to see if this was correct and I was given the same answer, even though I explained I was physically unable to lift my own bag no matter how heavy it was. I was also treated by this particular person with an eye roll and very apparent skepticism.

I went in hopeful and with a very high opinion of Southwest, but after this trip, I’m both saddened and disappointed. I wrote the company a letter because I would like to know what exactly I’m supposed to do next time I travel. When I ask passengers for help I oftentimes get attitude too so I’m stuck between a rock and a hard place as they say. Who am I supposed to ask for help? I understand it’s a liability thing for attendants not to lift bags (especially after Mr. Jet Blue). But if they can’t help the disabled (even those who don’t “look” disabled)…then who are they supposed to help?


One thought on “Post-Trip

  1. I have a non-specific muscular myopathy (similar to limb girdle) and have had the same varied experience on Southwest. I got the eye roll and admonished for “not knowing the rules” after the previous flight crew was extremely helpful. This is why I almost always check my bag. I find using my cane helps with getting past the “not looking disabled” even though I really only need it for stairs.

Leave a comment