Disappointments

“Don’t let today’s disappointments cast a shadow on tomorrow’s dreams” -Unknown

I read this quote the other day, ironically before I had a phone interview for a potential job. I was laid off back in January and have been feverishly looking for something full time ever since. I’m extremely fortunate to have kept a part-time job since 2008.

But as I’m sure many people know, today’s job search can be an extremely exhausting thing. I’ve been working for over 5 years and as of my layoff, have only had 2 interviews. Yet I’ve submitted my resume to at least one company every day.

So as I was sitting there, waiting for my phone interview to start, I saw this quote and smiled. It can be applied to so many situations in life but it really struck me because of my current job situation. It’s exhausting and draining to apply for job after job and not get interviews or to get interviews and not get hired. I love my parents but living on my own has been such an amazing, life-changing experience that I don’t ever want to be in a situation where I’m forced to move back. Though I am thankful I have that option since I know many people don’t.

But whoever this “Unknown” is really hit the nail on the head. We all face disappointments. Things can be tough and sometimes things don’t go our way. But the way to come out of it is to just keep going. Just keep persevering and don’t let that job you didn’t get today, or that interview you didn’t get deter you from continuing to apply and continuing to put yourself out there. We all have our own paths in life and sometimes we reach some obstacles or a fork in the road that means we have to walk a little out of our way before we get to Oz. I have the quote written down on a piece of paper on my desk so anytime I’m feeling defeated, I can look down at it and smile.

2 thoughts on “Disappointments

  1. Reblogged this on Diary of an Inspiration Junkie and commented:

    This is something I wrote several years ago now when I was trying to find a job for the second time in my young life. I remember vividly how stressful that time was but I think it’s immensely helpful to use the past to remind us how grateful we are in the present. I’m very lucky that through being out of work, I found a job that was a perfect fit for me and one that I really enjoy (and to still have that same part time job too). I feel like I have more trouble being hopeful these days even with so much to be thankful for so this post was a nice reminder for me of how positive and hopeful I was, even in very trying circumstances.

Leave a Reply

