Becoming Ourselves

You haven’t really changed, you’ve just become more of yourself. That is really what we are all trying to do: become more of ourselves.” – Oprah Winfrey

I think I should I re-title this blog as the “Oprah Winfrey Fan Blog.” I just can’t help my immense admiration for the woman and the incredible pieces of wisdom that seem to flow out of her mouth with complete ease. 

I read this quote earlier in the day and it resonated with me so strongly. January – April of this year, as I’ve mentioned before, were three of the most eye opening months of my life. I learned so much and had so many realizations about myself. I really felt like I had “changed” a lot. Even as the years pass, I don’t feel like I’m the same person I was in the one before. This happens for all of us and I think if asked we would all say “Wow, I can’t believe how much I’ve changed!” Then when I read what Oprah said in her Stanford Commencement speech, my entire body went “Yes!” I realized in that moment that I wasn’t “changing.” Even though it may feel like it, I was just becoming more of myself. The self I’m supposed to be.

I look back at myself in a lot of past situations – past relationships, school – and I don’t even recognize the person I’m thinking back about sometimes. Even though some of it was only a few years away, it feels like decades. But this isn’t because I’ve changed and become a different me. I’m simply becoming me. I don’t even think I can say I’m becoming a better me because that somehow implies I wasn’t a good me back then and even though I’ve certainly made some less than ideal decisions, those were all a part of the path of growth that’s taken me here, to this moment. All of the things in life (good and bad) shape and mold us into being more of who we all are and who we are all meant to be I think. Day-by-day, experience by experience, we are all just striving to be and to become that which we were always intended to be. What an incredibly awesome thing! Thanks Oprah (from your #1 blogging fan) 🙂

One thought on “Becoming Ourselves

  1. Jac – I will no longer follow anything from Oprah. I’ll just wait for you to blog about it 😉 I like this as well though. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

