Birthdays

Before I get down to the nitty gritty here, I had to share this amazing photo I saw today from Anonymous ART of Revolution (via Facebook).

Photo Credit: Anonymous ART of Revolution / Robert Duncanson

Such an amazing image! And even more cool…it got shared by another 3 of my friends. The internet is a blessing and a curse but I can’t deny that I love when things like this catch on and get shared all over the interwebs. Words to live by…keep developing from the negatives!

But I digress…the point of this post is to talk about birthdays. As mine rapidly approaches, I’ve thought about this whole birthday/aging thing. I think a lot of us are terrified of getting older, especially once you start to get into your mid to late 20s. For whatever reason, society kind of makes 30 this “doomsday age” so the closer you get to it, the scarier it is. When 30 became the official age of “older,” I have no idea but here’s my stance on birthdays and getting older. Yes I’ve had moments in the past 2 years where I realize how much closer I am getting to 30 and my heart has stopped ever so slightly. Not so much because 30 is such a bad age to be but because I honestly do not know how I got to be this age so quickly. It seriously feels like I was just in high school or college yesterday.

But you know what? I wouldn’t want to be 15 or 16 or 20 or 21 again. It’s great to be young and not have to worry about rent or health insurance or for a lot of us, unemployment, but you know what comes with getting older? Wisdom and learning. The more years that pass, the more life experience you have and the more equipped you become to overcome obstacles, to deal with heartache, to just be. The better you become at enjoying the small things, at building relationships, at having fun. Maybe this isn’t true for everyone but I know it certainly has been for me! Especially in the last 3 years. I feel like I’ve learned and grown at warp speed. I’ve had a lot of heartache, hit some pretty low lows and made some pretty dumb decisions but you know what? I’ve had a lot of great highs and incredible moments too and from all of it, I know I’ve become a better person (or more of myself as my dear friend Oprah would say) and I know that I’ve definitely become a stronger person. I know that I’ve never been more confident in myself both physically and emotionally. I know that I’ve never been more outgoing. I know that I’ve never been happier.

So if with aging comes wisdom, comes more inner peace, comes more laughing and more self-assurance then I say…bring on the birthdays!

Leave a Reply

