Lessons Learned, Vol. 2

Photo Courtesy of Treats as Tasty Taters

So even though I am now officially a year older, I wanted to dedicate a post to reflecting back on the last year of my life…pre-birthday. As I said in my “Birthdays” blog, one of my favorite things about birthdays is the promise of a new year, and all the wisdom and lessons that come with it. So I thought it would be fitting to share some of the lessons I learned this past year:

  • Actions speak louder than words
  • Sometimes you’ll learn the lesson the easy way, sometimes it will be the hard way (and I had my fair share of both)
  • Getting surprise flowers from your best friend on Valentine’s Day is enough to induce the “ugly (but happy) cry”
  • People have the capacity to be truly amazing
  • If you put yourself out there, you’ll be pleasantly surprised how people respond
  • We are all a lot more alike than we are different
  • We are a lot stronger than we might think
  • The greatest blessing in life is a supportive group of friends and family and never take that for granted
  • It’s OK to be single
  • I’m not defined by external things and circumstances
  • Travel, no matter where it is, can be the truest form of a soul cleanse
  • I am so much more than my disability
  • Blogging is AWESOME! 🙂

What are some of the best lessons you’ve learned this past year?

Leave a Reply

