The Facebook Challenge

Do you find yourself checking your Facebook page more than several times a day? When you have a free minute, do you find yourself opening the app on your phone and just mindlessly scrolling through it? Well, I do. I had a good run there recently of staying off of it but lately my Facebookaholicism has kicked into full gear. I was driving into work last week and all of a sudden I had a thought: what if I just didn’t go on Facebook at all for an entire week? I’ve done a couple days here and there but never a full week. And I will admit, the thought scared me. Could I really do it? Even having to ask myself that question seemed preposterous…it’s just a social networking site right? But it’s amazing how reliant we can become on it, myself included.

We haven’t just become reliant on the page itself, or on checking it, we’ve become reliant on the high that it gives us to have a “Like” on a picture or a status. We’ve become reliant on the validation and the ego boost it gives us to get one of those Likes or to know people think what we have to say is cool or funny. I’m sure that’s not the case for everyone, but it certainly has been for me at times. I realized how much I’ve come to rely on sharing what I’m doing (way too often) in order to get that validation from my peers. I feel like I have to show all the “cool” things I’m doing in order to somehow prove to everyone else that my life is also “cool” and that I am therefore, a valuable human being.

So I want to get back to basics for a week. I want to remember what it’s like to validate myself without putting every little thing I’m doing out there to the Facebook universe. I want to remind myself of why I’m a valuable human being sans Facebook. Remember what it’s like to have someone call or text me if they want to talk (and vice versa). To not feel like I have to post cute pictures of myself or clever statuses and anxiously await the “Like” or occasional comment. I want to remind myself there’s a lot of other things I can do in my spare time that don’t involve reading my Facebook News Feed.

Don’t get me wrong, Facebook does a lot of good too. It connects us, it allows me to advertise my blog and read other inspiring posts and stories. Many times those “likes” and comments can make me laugh when I’m having a bad day. I think the negatives have outweighed the positives lately though, so I need a bit of a Facebook cleanse. There was a time in my life when I didn’t have Facebook and I want to remember what that was like, even if it’s just for a week.

So here goes nothing…Facebook Challenge: Accepted!

One thought on “The Facebook Challenge

  1. Let me know how it goes! Facebook has become so intertwined into my daily routine between posting photos to my blog and then onto Facebook. It’s crazy… and I often notice I mindlessly check it when it isn’t for “business” as well…

Leave a Reply

