The Makeup Challenge

foundation-makeup-weightless

I started wearing makeup when I was about 13 and I pretty much haven’t stopped wearing it since, save for a trip to France in high school where people made me feel so beautiful, I didn’t feel the need to wear any. We live in a makeup-obsessed world to say the least. I can only imagine how many millions of dollars the industry rakes in every year. I can’t deny that I contribute to that or that I love it either. It’s fun to play with and try out different “looks.” It’s exciting to find new ways to enhance your facial features or bring out your eyes.

I wrote a few blogs ago about how I’d stopped trying to wear makeup in an attempt to stop trying to be “perfect” all the time. I certainly made some progress but unfortunately, I jumped right back on the wearing makeup everyday bandwagon. Then, this week, I watched this video on I Am That Girl. I don’t know exactly why this video spoke to me so much more than anything else has, but it did. I decided that this weekend I was going to give myself the challenge of going out all day without a drop of makeup on. No mascara, no blush, no concealer. Just me and my natural face. I think Camillia makes a great point in the video, that it’s all about your attitude when you go out into the world, makeup or no makeup. If you smile and put out those positive vibes, people are going to notice that and not those one or two blemishes you might have on your face, or the dark circles under your eyes.

So that’s what I tried to do today. I got up, I showered, I threw some mousse in my hair and I started my day (it’s amazing how much quicker you get out of the house when you don’t put makeup on either!). I went out with a smile on and the most positive attitude I could muster. I would be lying if I said it wasn’t hard. I’ve gone out completely makeup free maybe two other times before and it was usually at the beach or something like that. I hate how my eyes look without eye makeup and I don’t like people seeing that I don’t have perfect skin. I know that people already notice my limp, so I haven’t ever wanted to give people another reason to notice anything else “imperfect” about me.

But you know what, I’m going on hour 4 of a completely makeup free me. I went to the grocery store, grabbed lunch, took care of some other errands and I’m overall feeling really good. Just like the Facebook challenge (I think this one was much harder however), it’s so satisfying to take on a challenge head-on…no matter how hard it may be…and accomplish it. This is the real me, this is who I am. At the end of the day and the beginning of the day, this is what I look like. Flaws and all. If I can’t love and accept that, then how can I expect others to?

2 thoughts on “The Makeup Challenge

  1. I used to be totally against makeup, but my girlfriend explained to me that she actually enjoys wearing it and trying out looks, just as you said. I had to modify my opinion of it a bit to meet her, but only part way, because she thought she looked bad without it. I demonstrated to her that she didn’t need it to be beautiful, either to me or others, and now much of the time she doesn’t wear it at all. It’s great to be able to see her skin naturally.

    It helps to understand that the people in the industry that advertises makeup use fear and self-esteem assaulting tactics to sell their products. Read the ads in any women’s magazine and it’s plain as day: “you look bad, buy this to look better.” It’s hard for me to tell whether it’s part of the cause of women hating themselves today or a symptom of the cause.

  2. We’ve all heard the term” Beauty comes from within” and it’s true. Makeup only enhances or hides the features of the person wearing it. How many of us know someone that is physically attractive but are thought of in unkind terms by others because of their attitude? Sounds to me like your back on track, if makeup makes you feel good, wear it, it will not change who you are one way or the other.

Leave a Reply

