So Long 2012!

Oh yes, I’m going to do one of these blogs. I’ve never been a huge fan of all the hoopla involved with New Year’s Eve. There’s always so much pressure to have plans and go out and you feel like you’re missing out or aren’t normal if you don’t. It does so happen that I have plans this year, but my favorite thing about the night before the beginning of a New Year is being able to reflect back one more time on all the events and lessons from the previous year and then turn the page to a new year the next day.

So here’s a few things (good and bad) that happened for me in 2012:

  • Had something I wrote published online for the first time. Thank you Tiny Buddha!
  • Experienced a couple of the most stressful months of my life
  • Voted in my second Presidential election (and consequently got jury duty)
  • Lost my job
  • Started blogging…here and for MDA
  • Began embracing my disability instead of being ashamed of it or trying to hide it
  • Started a new job at an old company with some truly great people and friends
  • Went to Portland for the first time and fell in love with it
  • Closed the book on a few chapters in my life that were way overdue for closing
  • Continually realized my worth and that I never need to settle
  • Went to a gay bar and a gay club for the first time!
  • Started the process of being open about my feelings instead of hiding them for fear of confrontation
  • Realized that it’s ok if not everyone likes you
  • Experienced what a true, meaningful friendship is really like

My friend on Facebook put this whole idea of a new year so eloquently. He said that it’s never so easy as to say “I had a good year or a bad year” because our years are full of goods and bads. Sometimes even just a day can have good and bad in it. He said “as long as I can look at myself in the mirror and tell myself I am closer to being the person I want to be, I consider it a good year” and I think that sums it up in the best way possible. We never know what the next year is going to hold. There will always be ups and downs but all we can do is keep moving forward and keep learning so that we can continue on our way to becoming more of the people we are and the people we’re meant to be.

Here’s to growing and learning in 2013!

2 thoughts on “So Long 2012!

  1. I’ll be doing a similar post 🙂 Like you, I don’t necessarily make resolutions, it’s more a time to reflect on the goods and the bads of the year. The ups, the downs, and all the in-betweens! Life really is worth living as fully and as fun as we can possibly can make it!!

    Thanks for being a great friend to me and an awesome roommate for many years! In all honesty, you’ve shaped me and I’ve grown from having you as a friend in my life!

    Get ’em girl!
    Cheers to 2013!
    MAC

Leave a Reply

