Strong

I was talking to my roommate the other night and she said something to me that really made me stop and think. I was relaying a story to her about something that had happened that night and she said, “that’s because you’re strong.”

Strong isn’t a word I would ever have used to describe myself in the past…physically or otherwise. But this past year, I’ve come to realize that it should really be in the top 3 words I use to describe myself. I say that in the most humble way possible and I don’t want to sound self-indulgent here but I really am proud of how far I’ve come.

I may still have trouble going up stairs. I may not be able to lift myself out of the Matterhorn on my own at Disneyland, but what I can do is make smart decisions for myself. I can recognize when things aren’t right and get away from them. I can stand up for myself and for what I deserve. I can move on from things that at one point, seemed impossible to move on from. I can pick myself up from an obstacle and keep going.

I feel like I have a much better handle on my worth. A much better handle on who I am. It’s a day-by-day learning process and I don’t think any of us can ever truly be at a point where we know ourselves 100%, but I know I’m so much further ahead now than I was even a year ago and even though I may be the same physically, that’s one of the greatest feelings in the world.

One thought on “Strong

Leave a Reply

