The Lists

After some tough news on Friday and the variety of emotions that followed it this weekend and today, I turned to my awesome friend Dustin for some advice. He said: “Make 3 lists: one of things you’re grateful for, one of things you need to forgive, and a third of things you need to forgive yourself for.” So before I dove into the piles of editing work I had to do, I made that very list for myself.

I won’t share it here…even a blogger has to have some things kept private 🙂 but the main thing I noticed was how much longer the “Things I Need to Forgive Myself For” list was than the other two. I have so much to be grateful for but I still somehow felt like there were many more things I needed to forgive myself for. Even with the people I’m having trouble forgiving, that list was still much much shorter.

It’s a compelling exercise and quite a therapeutic one, so the next time you’re having a rough day or have some things to work through…I encourage you to try making one of these lists and see what kind of results it reaps.

I can tell you one thing for sure…one of the first things I put on that grateful list was the amazing people I have in my life that listen to me no matter what they might be doing or how busy they are, and offer me their words of wisdom. I hope everyone is as lucky as I am to have people like that in their life.

3 thoughts on “The Lists

Leave a Reply

