Mirrors

mirrorDon’t worry, I’m not going to post the song lyrics to the Justin Timberlake song of the same title (though I do love that song). I’ve been thinking a lot about the idea of mirrors though. I wrote a story once (pre-college) about a mirror that slowly started to crack until it became a pile of broken shards on the floor and the main character who let’s be honest was me, stood there and gazed at the broken shards as she picked them off the floor and started to throw them away. It was intended to be a bit of a metaphor for a relationship that had broken apart and probably one of the things I’ve written that I’m the most proud of.

The more I think about them now though, the more I see mirrors in much more of a positive way. We are all mirrors of ourselves. We’re all human. We’re all works in progress. Disabled, not disabled. Man or woman. American or Sudanese. Yes there may be great differences in our lives, our cultures, our circumstances, and our struggles, but at the end of the day we are all in this together. We all have something to contribute to this world and to each other. We all have the capability to help each other through those lives, those circumstances, and those struggles.

We are mirrors of ourselves too. We each walk around with one that faces in at us and one that faces out at the world. Whatever we feel on the inside about ourselves, our life, each other…that reflects out. If I’m having a bad day, I’m sure people can tell. If I don’t feel great about myself, I’m sure people can see that too. All those years I was so self-conscious and would walk with my head down, I can guarantee people noticed that. But when we feel good about ourselves, when we feel assured in who we are and what we offer the world, that has nowhere else to go but into that mirror and out on all those we come into contact with. When we love one another, we can see and feel that.

Take a look in your mirror and the mirror of others. What can you see?

One thought on “Mirrors

Leave a Reply

