Striving for Imperfection

“Perfect isn’t normal, nor is it interesting” – Amy Adams

I’ve talked a lot about perfection and the definition of beauty here but this quote from Amy Adams took it to a very different level for me so I wanted to share it.

As I sat in the jury duty assembly room today, it really made me think. We (including myself) spend so much time wondering why we don’t look like Heidi Klum or the girl in the Ralph Lauren ad but what has literally never occurred to me is the idea that maybe I don’t even want to look like that, or want to want to look like that. I know that probably sounds crazy and I know there’s no possible way I’m going to feel that way all of the time but today was the first time I really sat back and thought to myself, “you know, I really don’t.”

No one is truly “perfect” anyway, not even Heidi Klum, even if she may look like it to us and models represent such a small percentage of the population, they certainly aren’t the norm. It’s easy to forget that sometimes. And personally, I’d rather be able to eat some of what I enjoy and not have to work out 5-7 days a week just to look that way. I’d rather just enjoy life.

Who decided that imperfections were even “imperfect” to begin with anyway? Who decided cellulite was unattractive when sorry to tell you guys, women have had it for centuries. Skinny, heavy, tall, short…women of all shapes and sizes get cellulite. Why is curly hair considered less attractive? When did having small boobs become a death sentence? A lot of this points to advertisers and products trying to market themselves really (thanks Mad Men); it has very little to do with anyone ever actually saying these qualities are unattractive.

So no, perfect isn’t normal and it isn’t interesting. It might be good to look at but no, I don’t want to strive for it. I don’t want to be the hot girl in the Carl’s Jr commercial. As I’ve said before, true beauty comes not from what we look like, but from what’s inside. Instead of striving to get rid of our thighs or whiten our teeth, we should be trying to tone our souls and working out our self-worth. I know what I would like to be too. I would like to be smart. I would like to always be learning. I would like to be compassionate and giving. If this means I also have cellulite, a poochy stomach and small boobs, then that is more than ok with me.

When I die, I don’t want people to think “wow, she was really pretty” or “man did she have a perfectly toned stomach!” I want people to think “she really was a good person” or “what an impact she made on the lives of others.” That’s the legacy I want to leave. I’m not striving for perfection…I’m striving for imperfection!

2 thoughts on “Striving for Imperfection

  1. Good to know. You’re facing reality and dealing with the hand you were dealt. That’s the best any of us can do:-)

  2. I don’t want to look like Heidi Klum or the girl in the Ralph Lauren magazine either! As long as I am healthy, I don’t mind my extra fat on the tummy & thighs & hips & arms & chin and everywhere else…and my too-dark and bushy eyebrows…LOL…and neither does my man! Nah but in all seriousness, I think you are absolutely right. It’s funny how us girls think there is such a thing as a perfect looking girl when everybody’s definition of perfect is so different!!! Well said Jackie, as always, and as a side note – you are actually quite beautiful on the inside as well as outside ;))

Leave a Reply

