Travel Log: Seattle

So I just got back from an amazing trip to Seattle. It was one of those kind of spontaneous trips I’d spoken about in my last blog but because I was surrounded by people who genuinely care about me and have my best interests in mind, all of the “hard stuff” about travel because of my disability really wasn’t that hard.

We walked a lot (by my standards anyway). I had to go up and down stairs quite frequently but thankfully got some piggy back rides to help with that. I got a little self-conscious on our first night there about meeting so many new people with my clear inability to get out of most chairs by myself. I ended up falling on the last night but I was lifted off the ground and accompanied arm-in-arm the rest of the way home. Am I completely exhausted today after all that and a 6:30am flight back? You betcha but you know what? It was totally worth it because I made so many great new memories, I saw a new city I’d wanted to see for a really long time and I was reminded just how much having truly awesome, caring people in your life can mean. When you have a disability like I do, you actually find yourself in a pretty ideal situation because you don’t want to surround yourself with just anyone. Because I need extra help with things, I have to have friends that are not only ok with me having a disability but are willing to go that extra mile to help me when I need it and I definitely found that with the group of people I went on this trip with.

I just love the feeling I get from traveling alone (even though only half of this trip was alone). I may not be able to get my suitcase in the overhead compartment on my own but everything else I can and for someone with a disability, it’s such an exhilarating feeling. The idea of solo travel terrified me just a few years ago but now after every trip I do alone, I end up feeling like an even stronger person than when I left.

And in a true travel (b)log style, a few scenic photos from the trip:

Image

Image

Image

4 thoughts on “Travel Log: Seattle

  1. Congrats, Glad it all worked out:-) I’ll bet before you went you were a little unsure, but that is the added thrill many of us go through with a disability. Maybe now you won’t be so doubtful when you want to go somewhere. I’ll be at Group on Tues. night in case you’d like others to know how it went. See Ya:-)

  2. Hi Jaclyn! I am a student at LLU’s OT program. Our professor encouraged us to check out your blog to learn more about MD. I had set aside 30 mins to visit your blog and I find myself 2 hours later still browsing! I think you are absolutely amazing and incredibly inspirational. I decided to post on this post specifically because I love how you acknowledge that having friends who are supportive is a huge gift. As a future OT, I can only hope that my future client’s will have friends and parents like yours that are so supportive. I think a great support system is absolutely huge in terms of how one deals with disabilities.

    In terms of travel, are there things that you have to think through, or plan for, that those without MD would normally think about?

    1. Thank you very much Lizet! I really appreciate that. I am very lucky to have a lot of wonderful people in my life. There’s quite a few things I usually have to think about/plan when I travel that I think most people don’t. For example, I always have to get to the airport as early as possible and if I have a layover, have to make sure it’s long enough since I’m not able to run to the gate if needed. Luggage is another one. I almost always check it now, even if I have to pay because I’m not able to lift it into the overhead bin on my own and I’ve had a lot of trouble with flight staff and other passengers when I’ve asked them for help (people aren’t very willing when they don’t think you have a disability just because you look like you don’t). I’m very glad I can at least get it off the baggage carousel on my own. Because of my disability, I’ve really become kind of an insane planner. I don’t like not knowing what to expect when I go places but I’ve also come to realize there’s always going to be a certain amount of going with the flow with travel. I may end up in places with stairs and no elevator or doing something that involves a lot of walking so I just have to be prepared to meet those challenges as they come 🙂

      1. Thank you for the insight! It’s great to know what kind of energy conservation techniques might be useful for those with MD, especially when it comes to traveling. There are so many factors to consider when traveling, I think being prepared for anything is a great approach. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

