Life’s Little Victories (and Mistakes)

speed_bumpI mentioned in an earlier post about some insanely fantastic wisdom Susan Sarandon shared on an episode of Oprah’s Lifeclass. She essentially said that it’s not the victories in life that we learn and grow from, it’s the mistakes.

I’ve talked about my thoughts on everything happening for a reason, making mistakes, and my belief in the non-existence of failure but I started to think about what she said a little more in-depth. There were some things that happened in my life over the past year…choices I made, consequences that ensued that were incredibly hard to deal with at times. Sometimes I thought I was never going to feel better or get out of the tunnel. I felt like I’d made some of the biggest mistakes of my life.

Thankfully now I am well out of that tunnel but I realized that this was exactly the kind of life experience Susan was talking about. If I hadn’t made the choices I had and everything just kept on going smoothly in my life, I wouldn’t have had anything to learn and grow from. I might still be the same person I was a year or two ago. What happened challenged me in some pretty huge ways emotionally and psychologically but you know what? I’ve become a much stronger person because of everything. I feel now like I needed that experience – almost like it was “supposed” to happen – in order to take me to that next level of strength. To bring me closer to the person I am and the person I am becoming.

It’s kind of like that saying: “God doesn’t give you anything you can’t handle.” Now I’m not a particularly religious person, or I don’t subscribe to one particular religion I should say, and I don’t think this statement can be applied to those suffering oppression, genocide, or mass hunger all over the world but I think in this case, it’s kind of true. I didn’t always feel like I could handle it, but I did. I handled it. I made it through and I am a better, faster, stronger person for it…did I really just quote Kanye?

So the next time you hit a bump in the road or make a mistake, remember that no matter how tough it might seem at the time…chances are that was the exact bump you needed to go over to take you where you needed to go. I know I certainly want some victories in my life but I’ll certainly take a few speed bumps along the way too.

Leave a Reply

