Inspiration of the Day – Taking Chances

“Take chances, take a lot of them. Because honestly, no matter where you end up and with whom, it always ends up the way it should be. Your mistakes make you who you are. You learn and grow with each choice you make. Everything is worth it. Say how you feel, always. Be you, and be okay with it.” — Unknown, Positive Outlooks

This quote really struck me today. I’ve been working hard on sharing exactly how I’m feeling with everyone…including friends. I’ve really gone through most of my life bottling up my emotions and not letting myself be vulnerable at all out of fear. Fear of rejection, fear of losing a friendship, fear of hurting feelings. But I can’t really be true to myself if I’m not being honest about how I feel. When you start the process of being honest about your feelings, you almost automatically start taking more chances. I took several chances just in the past few days with my feelings. One turned out just fine and the other is still to be determined (but it’s not looking good).

It’s really hard to put yourself out there. It’s hard to say “look, this is how I feel” and wait for the other person to either accept it or not. And if not, having to move forward. But, as cliche as it is, if you don’t try…you’ll never know. If you stifle all of your feelings and stifle your voice, you’re stifling who you are. You’ll get lost in trying to hide your emotions like I have for so long. You won’t truly be living and you’ll never know what might have happened if you had taken that chance. Maybe it won’t turn out the way you want, but what it will do is turn out exactly as it’s supposed to.

One thought on “Inspiration of the Day – Taking Chances

Leave a Reply

