Travel Withdrawls

030It’s no secret that 2014 hasn’t been the best year in my life for a variety of reasons. I think it’s been made even tougher by the fact that 2013 was such an amazing and incredible year, especially around this time. I went from going to Seattle for the first time to a trip all over the US to my dream trip in Ireland. I always knew after I went to Ireland I would probably feel a little bit of “now what?” I checked off #1 on my bucket list so it leaves you feeling a little…empty almost. 

I’ve done some travelling this year but it’s been on a much smaller scale. I went to Hawaii for barely 4 days (yes, I know I shouldn’t complain about that) and then Idaho for my best friend’s wedding. I just feel like I’m having travel withdrawls still. I don’t have the milestone of my first big trip on my own. I don’t have a dream trip to look forward to. I’ve been trying to make London happen because it’s another place I’ve wanted to go for a long time. But the clock is slowly ticking on the year and come January, we’ll be getting into busy season at work and I won’t be able to take any substantial time off. 

It’s frustrating because I think this year is the year I feel like I need a trip the most. I need to get away and to refresh. I need to do something on my own to remind myself of how capable and strong I am. I need to get out of the monotony of the day to day. This is definitely the first year in my life where I’ve sort of craved solitude or doing things on my own. I’ve kind of just wanted to withdraw from people for a while and get to know myself again. That’s not to say I don’t love and appreciate my friends but sometimes I feel like I just need to unplug from the world and plug back in to myself.

I think about how I was last year and I certainly still had my rough patches, but I haven’t really liked who I am most of this year. I was so happy and upbeat last year. I’ve been irritated and angry a lot more than I’ve been happy and positive this year. I got my new job in January of this year which is the last time I can remember being truly high on life. I’m certainly working through everything and I’m hopeful the year will end on a positive note but I think I feel like travel might be able to fix some of the issues I’ve been having. Ultimately though, really the only thing that can truly remedy that is me. It doesn’t matter how far away I go, the only way that angry, irritated person is going to go away is if I try to overcome it, no matter where in the world I am. I think the bulk of what I miss last year isn’t necessarily the travel itself but more the way it made me feel and the way I felt overall throughout the year.

I still hope I’m able to fit some kind of trip in in the next 6 months. There’s still so much of the world for me to see and the only one who can make my travel goals come true is me. I just have to figure out a way to make it work and make it happen.

2 thoughts on “Travel Withdrawls

  1. Hi Jackie-

    I know this is an older post of yours but today I was reading your blog for the first time. I clicked on your blog posts that have the “travel” tag on them because I love to travel myself! I quickly saw that you visited Ireland last year had loved the adventure! My favorite place to be is Ireland!! I studied abroad there as a university student and then after college graduation I went back to Ireland and worked for 6 months!! I feel as if Ireland is my second home. I lived just south of Dublin in CO Wicklow in a town called Greystones (it is near Bray) along the coast if you traveled around there!

    When reading this post from you in particular I could totally relate to the travel withdrawals. It has been almost a year and a half since last being in Ireland and I crave that travel and getting away from the day to day. In some ways I feel that getting away to a place that I love- Ireland- would change my attitude, and bring some new life back to my soul. But how true is your sentence of ultimately I am the only thing that can remedy that. I can work on changing my attitude now.

    Thank you for your insight and I would love to hear more about where you went in Ireland- and what was your favorite place?? (My favorite is Dublin and where I lived (Greystones))

    Blessings!

    1. Hi Emily. That’s so awesome you studied abroad there and went back after college! If there’s anywhere else in the world I could live it would be Ireland without a doubt. I don’t think we made it to that part of the country (we also didn’t see the Cliffs of Moher which I really wanted to see because it was all fogged in so I have to go back just to see those!). It was a motorcoach tour that started in Dublin and basically went all around the perimeter of the country (with the exception of Northern Ireland). So we went to Galway, Killarney, the Ring of Kerry and a few other places I honestly can’t remember anymore. My favorite day though we went to a town called Clifden which is in CO Galway I believe and then took a ferry over to an island called Inishbofin where this crazy and funny Scottish guy gave a tour of the island in his van. It was a beautiful sunny day too. I loved Dublin but the small towns/countryside were what really got me. Thanks for sharing your Ireland experiences!

Leave a Reply

