For All My Friends

I dedicated a post to my parents a little while back but I wanted to take the opportunity to thank all of my amazing friends. Friends who have given me piggy back rides up three flights of stairs. Friends who have given me what I fondly refer to as the “belt loop boost” to get on and off the bus at Disneyland. Friends who may not understand what it’s like to have a disability but are always there for me when I need to vent about it or just totally fall apart. Friends who help talk me through those moments. Friends who make me laugh when I want to cry. Friends who, no matter what they’re doing, always have time for a phone call or a text message. Friends who stay behind with me in a big group when we’re walking because I can’t walk as fast as everyone else. Friends who teach me what true positivity is. Friends who have literally picked me up when I fell. Most importantly, friends who teach me what true friendship is.

It’s not my fault I was born with MD obviously and I deserve friendship just like anyone else but the reality is, it is more effort to be friends with me. You have to be aware of my limitations. You have to be prepared to lift me off the ground if I fall. You can’t walk too fast. So it really takes a special person with all of that in mind to love and accept someone and to not just be their friend, but to really be there for them as a friend.

So for all of you amazing people in my life I am lucky to call a friend. Thank you for listening. Thank you for the endless support and most of all, thank you for loving me for me and for just being there. I love you all more than I could ever say.

Leave a Reply

