Keep on Flyin’

We all have a lot of hopes and dreams. Some people want to be President, some want to be a doctor or a lawyer. Or maybe you’re like me and your hopes and dreams come in smaller packages sometimes.

One of my biggest hopes is to be able to travel without stressing out. That may be an impossible dream but I haven’t lost hope. As my next trip approaches, I think about how far I’ve already come. I didn’t fly by myself for the first time until I was about 23. It was my bucket list trip to New York in December. I even ended up taking a cab by myself to the airport. Back then, I would literally be rendered unable to sleep the night before because of the stress. Stress of being late and missing my flight because I can’t run to the gate. Stress from potentially losing my luggage. Getting stranded or having an overnight flight delay. The list could go on and on.

Now though, many years later, I still get stressed. I still worry about my luggage getting lost or missing a flight or what I’m going to do about my luggage after my bad carry on experiences, but it’s much more bearable now. I’m usually able to sleep just fine before a trip. I assert my disability a lot more freely and am not afraid to ask to pre-board. I have much more of a “take it as it comes” attitude.

I hope that someday I won’t even have a little iota of stress anymore. I think the more I do it, the easier it’s going to get which is a big reason why this year I’ve really tried to take every opportunity to travel. By the time 2015 rolls around, I will have been on a plane 4 times (actually more than that if you count layovers and round trip). Might not sound like a big deal to some people but as someone who was told she wouldn’t walk on her own without any kind of assistance ever, it’s huge. Not only did I prove the doctor’s wrong, I’ve proven myself and my own fears wrong too. I can travel on my own successfully. There are hurdles sometimes but I’ve managed to overcome them and I know I’ll continue to do so as I keep travelling. I really can’t say enough how fulfilled it makes me feel when I get back from a trip I did all on my own, even if it’s stressful.

Here’s to a good night’s sleep and another travel adventure.

Leave a Reply

