Acceptance

Happy 2015 everyone! It’s a new year which means plenty of new inspiration to soak up and think about. I had an amazing Christmas break and a New Year celebration with close friends and family (and a lot of snow!)

Snow

I’ve been reading Amy Poehler’s Book Yes, Please over the past month (highly recommend it if you’re looking for a good book to read). I came upon a chapter over my holiday break that absolutely blew my mind. Amy said growing up she learned to accept that she was the funny girl and not necessarily the pretty girl. She also learned to accept the voice in her head that would tell her she wasn’t pretty or not good enough.

It made me realize that a lot of what life is about and what has the potential to really make us happy is acceptance. For me, this comes in a lot of forms. Accepting that I have MD which is something that’s never going to change. Accepting that I’m never going to look like a Victoria’s Secret model or Scarlett Johansson. Accepting that that’s ok. Accepting that the nasty voice in my head that tells me I’m not enough…pretty enough, smart enough, ambitious enough, enough enough…won’t ever fully go away. Accepting that there are always going to be things I can’t do. Accepting that no matter how much self-improvement I make, I am never going to be perfect at it all. Accepting that I am still going to make mistakes.

Acceptance. Embracing that life isn’t always going to smoothly and we are never going to be perfect. It seems so easy in theory but in actuality, is one of the hardest things to do. Why is that? I certainly don’t have all the answers. Maybe it’s simply because it’s hard to embrace things that are difficult. It’s hard for me to just let go and accept that I’m never going to be able to run. That dating is always going to be just a little bit more difficult. That I’m always going to face scrutiny or be asked about why I’m limping. Maybe we’re afraid of what it might mean if we embrace our flaws instead of trying to fight them or change them. Maybe we’re afraid people won’t like us if we just embrace all parts of ourselves, even the not so great stuff. Maybe we think accepting means we’ll never be able to change for the better or that the situation will never change. Maybe it’s because we can’t filter all the outside noise trying to do everything possible to stop us from accepting ourselves. I’m sure there are 1,000 reasons for why acceptance is so difficult. I know it’s without a doubt, the thing I have the hardest time with. Sometimes I wonder if I will ever fully accept that I have MD. But maybe that’s something that I have to accept too…

Leave a Reply

