No Inspirational Quote Required

Internet Stop Trying to Inspire Me

The above article popped up on my Twitter feed today from the Huffington Post. Being that I’m the author of a blog based around the idea of inspiration, the title naturally called out to me. You’d think that maybe I would disagree with something with a subject like this but in actuality, I wholeheartedly agree with everything the writer said.

I wish I could say I felt positive and hopeful every day of the week but as you can tell from many of my posts here, that’s just not the case. None of us would be human if we felt that way all the time. Not to mention, none of us would ever learn much or grow if we were always happy pappy and never affected by anything. This article was a great reminder of that for me. I feel like I have to be positive and upbeat here all the time because that’s the message and feeling I want to give people. But I also want people to be able to relate to me and if I’m a walking inspirational quote, no one is going to be able to relate on any level. I have a hard time giving myself a free pass for being mad sometimes, or feeling down, or not wanting someone to inspire me.

So even I have those days when I just can’t be consoled. When the last thing I want to read is some inspirational quote or article titled “10 Ways to Cheer Up When You’re Having a Bad Day!” And it’s ok to have those kind of days. Sometimes you need to feel whatever emotions you might be feeling that day, whether they’re negative or positive and not have a constant stream of “It’s ok!!!” staring you in the face across your News and Twitter feed cause you know what? It’s not always ok. Sometimes it just flat out sucks.

I know I’ve said it many times but I am nowhere close to being a positive person 24/7. I don’t usually walk around with a big smile on my face and I’m definitely not happy all the time. I get angry. I get moody. I want to isolate from the world. I get sad…just like everyone. I am one giant imperfect human 🙂 We’re all one big imperfect human in this great big world and that’s actually a pretty cool thing. No inspirational quote required.

Leave a Reply

