An Exercise in Self-Reflection

IMG_2438

It’s no secret by now that I love Tiny Buddha. I’ve been lucky enough to have written a couple of things for them but most importantly, the site has helped me through a lot of tough times and given me a great deal of insight about myself.

I recently purchased Tiny Buddha’s 365 Tiny Love Challenges. It’s a great book of exercises related to self-love, compassion and all around positivity and there’s a specific exercise assigned for each day of the year. Since I just got it, I’m starting towards the end of the book with October and then will circle back around to January in 2016. I just read October 30th’s exercise a few minutes ago (yes I’m technically a day ahead there) and I thought instead of writing it in a journal, I would do it here. The prompt is as follows:

Challenge
Think about an area of your life where you try your hardest but sometimes you feel like you’re falling short. Recall all the critical things you’ve said to yourself, and think about what you’d tell a friend if you knew they were being hard on themselves in this way. Now complete the writing prompt below so you’ll have this for encouragement whenever you need a reminder that you’re doing the best you can. 

This was a tough one since I feel like there are several areas where I fall short but one of the biggest ones is standing up for myself or speaking my feelings on something. I have so many instances from the past where I wish I could just teleport back and relive the moment so I could actually stand up for myself or say how I felt. I was having a conversation with a friend recently and I didn’t think of something that I wanted to say about the subject we were talking about, something related to my feelings, until the next day. I’ve beaten myself up over and over about this particular issue I have with myself. Asking myself why I can’t think of the things I want to say or why I don’t push myself to stand up for myself in the moment. Why I just can’t seem to. Why my mind seems to just go blank. 

What this page in Tiny Buddha wants me to do it complete this sentence so here it goes:

You may not always believe it, but you’re doing an amazing job at…
trying to assert how you feel and stand up for yourself. It’s a tough process but you’re taking it one step at a time which is all you can do and ask of yourself. You’re just naturally a nice, non-confrontational person and that’s ok. But it’s also ok to give yourself permission to speak up sometimes. You’re doing the best you can and that right there is an amazing job.

Leave a Reply

