Daily Inspiration – Mindy Kaling “Why Not Me?”

mkaling

As I’ve said many times before, I just love a good book. Especially during this time of year when it’s a little cooler and it gets darker earlier, there’s nothing better than curling up with a blanket, some tea, and a good read.

My latest good read came in the form of Mindy Kaling’s “Why Not Me”, a follow up to her first autobiography, “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?” which I haven’t yet read. I think one of my favorite genres of books are autobiographies, but there’s nothing I love more than one written by a strong female. “Why Not Me” is not just a look at some different facets of Mindy’s life and her personal experiences, it’s also flat out hilarious. You’re not going to get a lot of super deep revelations from this book or anything but it’s a super enjoyable and super quick read.

As someone who has spent the better part of her life feeling like an outsider, I’m always drawn to stories written by those who also quality themselves as outsiders. Mindy says herself she doesn’t look like the typical actress. She doesn’t fit into that mold of Hollywood deems pretty yet here she is, the star of her own show after starting as a writer on “The Office” and appearing on that as well. Her story resonated a lot with me (even though I in no way have my own TV show or am even close to having that become a reality) and I found comfort in knowing someone else had had a lot of the same life experiences and a lot of the same personal feelings I’ve had over the years. She manifested hers by being super chatty and outgoing; I manifested mine being extremely shy and quiet.

I think all women will find something they can relate to in this book and if not, then you’ll have a really good laugh and feel thoroughly entertained by it. And even better, it’s at the library!

4 thoughts on “Daily Inspiration – Mindy Kaling “Why Not Me?”

  1. Great review. I finished reading this book today! I really really enjoyed it. I was surprised I would enjoy that phone screenshot love story so much! Do read her 1st book though, there are many gems in that one too 🙂

  2. I have been meaning to read this book forever and this need has been validated! If you love this book you should definitely try Amy Poehler’s Yes Please! It’s currently on my nightstand and very similar of a voice to Mindy Kaling’s first book!

    1. Thanks Kelly! Glad my review was a helpful catalyst. I read Amy Poehler’s bio too. One of my favorites of all time! Can’t wait to read Tina Fey’s also.

Leave a Reply

