Daily Inspiration: Brooklyn, Book & Film

brooklyn

I’m often greatly inspired by books but I also reap a lot of inspiration from television and movies. I don’t believe inspiration always has to come in these great sweeping waves. Sometimes I think simply to be moved by something can be inspirational. Brooklyn, the book and the movie were that for me.

I started with the book over Christmas break. I read it in about a week. As someone of Irish heritage who admittedly might have what veers on on obsession with all this Ireland, when I saw the book on the shelf at Barnes and Noble, I knew I had to read it. It’s a beautifully woven story of family, love, and home. The author writes so masterfully that the reader feels every single emotion right alongside the main character, Eilis, without him needing to spell a single thing out.

I normally shy away from seeing a movie version of something after I’ve read the book, especially this close together, because I get too stuck in comparing the two versions. The only exception to this is the Hunger Games trilogy because the movies are done so well, I don’t care if they don’t match the book exactly. Plus Jennifer Lawrence is just a badass.

I won’t give away any details in case you haven’t seen the movie or read the book and are planning to, but fundamentally, the movie and book are quite different. The endings of each are not even remotely the same and of course to be able to fit the story into an almost 2 hour movie, they had to cut a lot out that was in the book. That being said, it’s still an extremely compelling, beautiful, and moving film (there were some tears shed as I sat in my squeaky movie seat). It pulls you in in the same way the book does and the same themes are important and conveyed throughout. The story is one I think we can all relate to in one way or another. The idea of home, of moving to a strange place, of family and of love. I can definitely see why it’s Oscar nominated and Saoirse Ronan deserves all the of the accolades she’s been given for her performance.

If you see any of the big award nominees this year, I highly suggest this one.

Leave a Reply

