Born This Way

So here’s the thing about having MD (and why I get so upset when something else goes wrong with me health-wise). I was already born with a big health issue; something I have to deal with on a daily basis. Something that causes me pain (especially when I fall twice in a few day span). Something that can be mentally and emotionally trying. All of us who have MD in its various forms have already paid our health dues just by being born with it, so we should never get anything else other than a cold or a flu here or there (and even that can be potentially life threatening for some).

So even though my thyroid stuff may just be hypothyroidism which a lot of people have and is easily treatable, it’s still one more health/wellness thing I would have. I had to have pre-cancerous cells removed several years ago. I had to go to the ER after a car accident. I feel like I’ve fulfilled my quota.

I often think about to the post I did about Tig Notaro a while back. She wasn’t born with MD but talk about paying your medical issue dues. Whenever I feel like my health stuff is too much to handle, I try to think about her and how incredibly brave she was in dealing with the shitty hand she was dealt. It doesn’t always make me less upset about whatever new health issue I’m dealing with, but it certainly helps to put it in perspective.

I know I can seem overdramatic and overworrisome about things like my thyroid ultra sound and all that so I thought it was worth illuminating why I am that way. I know I am still extremely lucky because many people with MD and other physical disabilities have many many health problems as a result of their disability. I’m fortunate that none of the ones I’ve had thus far are as a result of my MD (except my ever-increasing back problems and bruised knees). But I also can’t help that it wears me out sometimes, always having something to deal with. I wish that all of us born with any kind of physical/health challenge could have an automatic cap that our bodies would turn on that meant we would never have any other health issues ever again other than the big one we were born with. What a wonderful thing that would be.

But until that day, just have to find a way to keep my chin up and move forward.

5 thoughts on “Born This Way

  1. Good afternoon Jackie! I am an occupational therapy student at loma linda and wanted to thank you for your posts re MD and other health issues. As I am sure you have already been told, this certainly gives everyone perspective on their life. I have had my fair share of illnesses and injuries such as a life threatening staff infection, encephalitis, a broken back and most recently ACL surgery. And I ask myself some of the same questions that you have asked such as why do I repeatedly get dealt a bad hand and never catch a break? But at the end of the day, I realize that there are true warriors in this world like you and Matt (whom you may be familiar with as we have also blogged with him regarding his MS issues). I realize that what I have had to undergo in my life is nothing compared to the challenges that you face day to day. And while you have your bad days, you certainly approach life with more spirit and integrity than most. As you state, all we can do is keep our chin up and move forward. In the meantime, thank you for sharing your stories and PS–I love disneyland but did not renew my pass either:((( Too expensive and I can’t justify going more than once a year anymore. Have a wonderful day:)

    1. Hi Tim. Thank you so much! It’s funny because as I read all that you had been through I thought to myself that I really should stop complaining so much about my situation! I’m so glad you made it through all that but I’m sure it was a tough road. It’s interesting how big an impact perspective can have on our lives. I very much appreciate you saying I approach it with integrity too. It means a lot. Today is my first day in almost 4 years not being an annual Passholder anymore! It’s very odd. I work close to the park too and was nearby on my lunch and it was very bittersweet. But like you said it’s so expensive and they’re doing a bunch of construction now and it’s constantly crowded. Definitely time for a break. Thank you again for your comment!

      1. Thank you for your response Jackie. I look forward to reading more as you share your life experiences. In the meantime, lets be on the look out for some good Disney deals! Have a great day:)

  2. Thank you Jackie for your transparency and positive perspective. In situations where I feel like my life is tough, it’s people like “Tig” that always brings me back down to earth. Your positive outlook on your future is inspiring as that is oftentimes the only thing we CAN control. Having my fair share of serious injuries has been deeply humbling for myself, but has also made me feel that I am able to handle a lot more that life has to throw in my face. After my achilles tendon rupture I was hoping that would be the last injury “due” I would have to pay, but sometimes it just doesn’t work that way, and the only way we can keep going on and enjoy life is to take it in stride. Thank you for your inspiration and courage!

Leave a Reply

