Celebrating Joys – Day 17

ga_300_1

I don’t think it’s any big secret by now that I’m not a religious person. But, the serenity prayer has always held a special place in my heart. Acceptance of things I can’t change is not one of my strong suits and I often feel like the universe has a master plan it’s building against me to make my life more difficult (especially lately). So when I start to feel that way I remind myself of two things: a) The ever-wavering paid sick time I seem to be having at work because the system had an error and b) This prayer. There are so so many things in life that we can’t control. I would literally buckle if I let every single one of them get to me. There’s always going to be that person who drives like a jerk. People who don’t put in as much effort as you do will always get rewarded. Stuff is always going to go wrong at the worst possible time. That’s life. The only things worth focusing on are those things we can change which are mostly related to our own behavior. I can change my attitude. I can change how I swing at the curveballs thrown at me. I don’t have to identify as a victim of circumstance all the time. I can keep busting my butt because that’s the kind of person I am and because I care. Most importantly though, I can take deep breaths 🙂

Leave a Reply

