Celebrating Joys – Day 26

friends

Today was a very introspective day for me but I was also overcome with gratitude for a lot of things. Sometimes it’s hard not having some of my close friends nearby. Over the years a lot of friends have changed jobs, met significant others, etc. and so they’ve moved out of SoCal. But they always make such a concerned effort to stay in touch and check in and it really means so much. I talk to my best friend in Idaho every single day. I have no doubt we would still be best friends even if we weren’t able to talk everyday, but just knowing she’s always there to support me, even from so far away, means so much. The same goes for all of my friends that don’t live close by really. Not a week goes by where we don’t check in on each other or send each other a funny text or something that reminded us of each other. I’m definitely thankful for technology that’s allowed us to stay in touch with people so much more easily.

Another thing I was filled with gratitude for is having a place to go to work to everyday. This might seem like a strange one since we’re not really supposed to to enjoy work (it is called work after all) but it’s never lost on me that I’ve been out of work twice in my life. I know all too well the stress of not knowing if you’re going to have enough money for bills, health insurance and food that month, or wondering if you’ll ever be able to find another job again. Being able to do something I enjoy and also get a paycheck from it is extremely fulfilling. As a person who isn’t able to do everything on my own because of my physical limitations, I love being able to earn a living and get up and go to work 5 days a week. I know that I am extremely fortunate to be able to do so because so many people with disabilities have trouble finding work or just aren’t physically able to do so. That doesn’t mean there aren’t hard days sometimes but I always try to remember where I’ve been and how thankful I am to have landed on my feet.

photo credit: Okanagan Photography via photopin (license)
4 thoughts on “Celebrating Joys – Day 26

  1. I enjoyed your blog post Jackie. Your statement about being grateful for having a place to go to work everyday is one that’s shared by many, I’m sure. An old friend of mine has a sister that has MS, and I ran into them this weekend. She told me that among other things, her work helps her to get through her day. She told me it’s one of the places where she can get “lost in her work”, and forget about her pain and difficulties for 8 hours/day. It makes her feel good about herself, and helps her to realize that she still has something important to contribute to society, and her family as well, and that her disability need not “handicap” her, if you understand my meaning. Keep up the blog posts, there are others out there that draw inspiration from blogs like these, and you are doing them all a great service.

    Best of luck, and God be with you.

  2. Hello Jackie,
    I have enjoyed reading your blog posts and love having a peek into your world. This post really resonated with be just because lately I have been really stressed and haven’t really made time to take time to appreciate all the people that are next to me through this journey called life. I also have to admit, you made me feel a little guilty about having a place to go to work. Just this past week I was grumbling to myself how I really wished I didn’t work on the weekends. My reason? If I didn’t work I could sit and relax. However, you really made me think. Yes, working and being a full-time grad student is a challenge, but if it wasn’t for my job I would be depending on more student loans for the little things that I purchase for myself from time to time. You’ve really motivate me keep myself accountable to be thankful for all the little things in life.

    You’re an inspiration to others. I hope your perspective of life continues to be this way. Thank you so much for sharing!
    -Breanna

    1. Hi Breanna. Thanks for the great comment! Though I’m glad my post made you more appreciative of work being able to give you the funds for certain things, I don’t think you need to feel guilty about having a place to go to work. We all grumble about our jobs from time to time and I’m sure going to grad school is like having a full time job so I totally get you would just want to relax on the weekends! I hope my perspective life stays this way too. It’s definitely a day to day battle, one that I lose from time to time. But overall I really try to focus on what I’m grateful for. Have a good week and I hope you find some time to relax amidst your busy schedule 🙂

Leave a Reply

