Celebrating Joys – Day 27

Joys Day 27

Today was another easy one. After a weekend filled mostly with laundry, cleaning and work, I was thrilled to get out and spend some time with friends, celebrating a birthday. We did one of those paint nights, only we painted wine glasses instead of canvases. It’s no secret I have not a single artistic bone in my body (other than maybe writing) so painting, drawing, etc. always invoked a significant amount of frustration in me. But with the help of some adult beverages and fun friends, paint away I did. My glasses didn’t necessarily look like the samples but I’m happy with the way they turned out. It’s cool to hold something in your hand that you know you made or somehow worked on. It’s even more cool to have done it surrounded by friends, creating fun memories and laughing.

4 thoughts on “Celebrating Joys – Day 27

  1. Hi Jackie,
    I immediately clicked this post not only because 27 is one of my favorite numbers, but I recently have been debating about the importance of expressing gratitude as well as celebrating joys. I sometimes struggle with celebrating joys as I worry that I might rub people off the wrong way, or that I might come off as being too arrogant or proud by expressing my thoughts on how great my day was and how I am excited to live every day. It is probably because I was approached by someone in the past who asked me to take something down that I had posted on social media because they thought, ‘A real friend would not post a picture of you doing ___ when you know I cannot do ____.’ Anyways, long story short, I think regardless, joy is to be spread, and expressing how grateful you are to have these joy make a day worth living! I am so glad that you had a day filled with laughter and love! Love your wine glasses too:)

    1. Hi Jae. It’s funny you mention that because I feel that same way about posting stuff like this too. More than once I’ve posted one of these joys and thought to myself “do I sound arrogant or annoyingly positive because I’m sharing one of these everyday?” It’s interesting how much a bad experience with someone else can affect us or how we see other things and social media has added a whole new level to that. You put it perfectly though that joy should be spread in one way another. Thanks for the insightful comment 🙂

  2. Personally, I think the amazing thing about art is that nothing ever comes out exactly the same! Kind of like people. Art doesn’t need to be classically “beautiful” in order for it to mean something to you. I think it’s amazing that you are putting yourself out there and trying things outside of your comfort zone.

    1. Thanks Britt! I think that’s a great point. I honestly never thought about that before, that the most important part of art is what it means to the artist.

Leave a Reply

