Positivity Project – Day 4

I got the most amazing message on Facebook today from another girl with central core MD that brought me to tears. I’ve gotten so many wonderful messages as a result of blogging and writing a few things for the Muscular Dystrophy Association and many of those have brought me to tears too and filled me with immense gratitude. This one struck me particularly strong because it sounded just like I imagine I would have written a message to someone else if I had grown up in the Facebook generation. It was like reading my own story back again. Then to hear that what I had written made someone feel less alone and feel understood…there’s just really no words to describe how much that means.

I get disconnected sometimes from why I started to blog, why I wanted to write for Quest Magazine or Tiny Buddha. I get too caught up in my own feelings and forget that my reason for doing this is so much greater than me. I do it for others. I do it to try to help that little girl or little boy out there who is feeling just like I did…to say “it’s ok, I know how you feel and you’re not alone.” When you have something that’s this rare and still so misunderstood by the general public, knowing someone else can relate to you can mean the world. I know it does for me. Everyone who comes forward to tell me they can relate or that my words meant something make me feel that much less lonely too and for that I am eternally grateful.

I’ve never truly felt what it’s like to have a purpose before until today.

2 thoughts on “Positivity Project – Day 4

  1. As a new-ish reader of your blog, and a new-ish to MD person, I feel like I have always sensed your purpose in your writing. I am happy for you that you have identified that for yourself! Please keep writing.

    1. Thank you Wendy. I always appreciate your encouragement 🙂 I get so blinded by trying to figure out my own feelings or trying to deal with having MD or just daily like that sometimes I lose sight of my purpose but I’m glad I have readers like you who can see it for me when I can’t 🙂

Leave a Reply

