Positivity Project – Day 17

13903391_10153706485357371_3756541107254858802_n

My favorite ways to make sure my cup stays full:

  1. Get plenty of sleep: Seriously, this sleep thing is just the greatest ever
  2. Keep in touch with friends: My best friend lives in another state but we talk everyday and I’m lucky I have great friends here and all across the globe (including Hawaii!)
  3. Know when to say “no”: I still have trouble with this one sometimes but I’m getting better. You just can’t be everything to everyone and you’ll drain yourself if your try
  4. Me time: Every night I set aside time, before I do #1 (no, not that #1, get your mind out of the gutter), to watch my favorite show, read a book or just unwind
  5. Family: I’m very lucky I have amazing parents that I talk to everyday. They’re a constant beacon of support. Never be embarrassed to have a close relationship with your family
  6. Workout: Having MD means I’m never going to be one of those people who tells you to go workout because I know there’s people who just aren’t able to (and I hate when people tell me I should work out or online articles try to make everyone feel bad for not working out. So when I say workout, I mean move around however the hell you want in any way that makes you feel good. I never really understood how much better I could feel until I started going to water aerobics.
One thought on “Positivity Project – Day 17

  1. AMEN TO NUMBER 1! Jackie, I have had such a fun time reading through your blog. You are clearly such a thoughtful person and you give a voice to many that long to be heard. I especially like this positivity list because it is so important to remind ourselves of the simple things every day. If we don’t take care of ourselves, how will we be able to take care of others? I used to think that purposefully planning rejuvenation was counterintuitive, but I am coming to realize that quiet moments don’t just happen, they are cultivated and they are seized. I think you’ve done an excellent job of distilling the important things in life into these six bullet points, and I might just have to post them on my mirror as a reminder. Thank you for all of the work you do to advocate for the heart. I look forward to reading more 🙂

Leave a Reply

