Nomenclature

28917675201_02c9d69d45_b

There are 3 words that as of late, my relationship has changed with a bit.

Disability
This is a word I used to dislike. I wanted to use “handiable” or “differently abled” (I still don’t mind that one so much) as a way to put a more positive spin on a word that implies inability to do something. But as I’ve gotten older, I’ve started to embrace it simply as a term and one that does in fact describe me. I am unable to do certain things. It’s not a bad thing…it just is. At the end of the day, for me, it’s just a descriptive term and not the only one that describes me.

Inspiration
This is one that used to be in my blog title which you’ll notice has changed. We all need a good dose of inspiration every now and then but I don’t want to force feed it to people all the time and this blog certainly has a much more broad focus than just that. If I inspire people with this, that’s awesome. But sometimes you just can’t muster up the positivity or the inspiration and I know now that that’s ok.

Victim
This one is hard for me. I think this is how I’ve painted myself my whole life. I think this is how I’ve let myself be defined. This horrible, terrible thing happened to me where I was born with a super rare disability and therefore my entire life has felt like a punishment. I often get stuck in the corner of “you can’t possibly understand this” and I fall down the well of not being able to see myself as anything but a girl with a disability. Jackie gets stuck at the back of the line and is trying to catch up. Do my circumstances suck sometimes? Of course they do. Do I wish I wasn’t disabled a lot of times? Absolutely. But this is the way I was born. I can’t do anything about it but I can do something about how I choose to live with it. Struggle and difficulties are not confined just to me. We all have them in one form or another.

photo credit: timnutt Look via photopin (license)

2 thoughts on “Nomenclature

  1. I don’t feel that “victim” has come through in your writing here; I’ve enjoyed your keepin it real style. I applaud your reboot, or whichever term works for you–reframe??–here. Keep writing and I’ll keep reading!

    1. Well thanks Wendy. I really appreciate that. I think I’m good at filtering it out the victimhood sometimes and it exists more in my head but I’m glad it doesn’t come across that way here!

Leave a Reply

