Talkin’ Bout My Generation

the-who

Music has always been an important presence in my life. It’s been my pick me up. It’s been my solace in times of sadness. It’s made me feel understood. One of the things I love most about music is its ability to transcend time. If it’s an especially good song, it will resonate with people for generations to come. For me, one of those songs is “My Generation” by The Who. It feels even more applicable in our current times so I’ve found myself listening to it more and more (and often blasting it with my windows rolled down when I’m driving). I won’t dissect the song anymore than that. Instead, I will let the lyrics speak for themselves:

People try to put us d-down
Just because we get around
Things they do look awful c-c-cold
I hope I die before I get old

This is my generation
This is my generation, baby

Why don’t you all f-fade away
And don’t try to dig what we all s-s-say
I’m not trying to cause a big s-s-sensation
I’m just talkin’ ’bout my g-g-g-generation

This is my generation
This is my generation, baby

Why don’t you all f-fade away
And don’t try to d-dig what we all s-s-say
I’m not trying to cause a b-big s-s-sensation 
I’m just talkin’ ’bout my g-g-generation 

This is my generation
This is my generation, baby

People try to put us d-down 
Just because we g-g-get around
Things they do look awful c-c-cold 
Yeah, I hope I die before I get old 

This is my generation
This is my generation, baby

Leave a Reply

