Taking a Break

31354920830_bc1a4edebf_b

This isn’t a “please pay attention to or feel bad for me” announcement though it is one I’ve made many times before but it’s my blog so nee ner nee ner 🙂

2017 has been off to a challenging start to say the least. I’ve been trying my hardest to tune out some of the madness going on in our political climate but it seems to be everywhere. I open Facebook, there it is. MSN…it’s there. Yahoo…it’s there. Even going to water aerobics…it’s there. And unfortunately that’s all starting to take a toll on my psyche. I want to be informed and I want to engage and express my outrage, but today I realized that sometimes it’s ok to take a break too. Sometimes for our own well being we have to disconnect and focus just on our day-to-day in order to be able to just make it through the day. I’m taking on too much emotionally and I’m starting to drown as a result.

So the one thing I can step away from is Facebook. I actually wanted to deactivate my account but because of my blog pages, I can’t. But I’ve stayed off before so I know I can do it again. I need to. It’s been great to see so many other people as outraged by the events of this week as I am. I’ve felt pretty hopeless but as I’ve so often said, knowing that so many other people share in the outrage makes me feel at least a little bit hopeful. I wish I wouldn’t have taken for granted being able to be so hopeful these past 8 years. Now I’m going to really have to search for it. I’m going to watch a lot of Ellen and Gilmore Girls and keep plugging away on the amazing Harry Potter books. I’m going to listen to the La La Land and Sing Street soundtrack a whole lot. I’m going to try do what I can for other people. I’m going to try fix the things I can control. I’m still going to be outraged. I’m not sure that’s going to go away until this is all over. But I don’t have to walk through life being so pissed off all the time and looking for examples of just how horrible people can be.

I’ll still share my blogs via Facebook since I can do that without having to log on but as far as sharing anything from my personal page, it’s time to take a break and disconnect from the noise and reconnect with my inner peace. If I let that get destroyed then the other side has won in an even bigger way. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a La La Land sing along to get back to. Peace and love.

photo credit: katerha All we are saying is give peas a chance…. via photopin (license)

2 thoughts on “Taking a Break

  1. Just keep singing, just keep singing. . . After reading this post right now, all I can sing is “Give Peas A Chance,” so thanks for that, Jackie!! 😉 You’re not alone in the “Do I choose to be informed or do I choose to be sane?” volley.

    1. I admired your post about trying to understand the other side. In some ways I wish I could but it makes me too angry to even try. In my book, there’s a right side on this one and a wrong side and anyone who can support someone like Trump (who was never a normal political candidate) isn’t someone that I’m interested in knowing. I’m not sure if that’s the right way or a mature way to feel but it’s how I feel to my core. I’ve definitely felt better and a little more hopeful though these past few days sans Facebook in life and I’ll take any little bit of hope I can feel! Hugs.

Leave a Reply

