Holocaust Remembrance Day

img_2069
Holocaust Memorial – Berlin, Germany

Yesterday was an important day in world history, a day that was tragically overlooked because of all the bombastic and ridiculous news my country is currently creating. January 27th was the anniversary of the liberation of Auscwitz-Birkenau concentration camp. A poignant and deep reminder of just how far hate can go.

I’m a day late but I pay tribute to the millions of lives lost in the camps. The millions of families that were torn apart and destroyed. To the people who survived long enough to be liberated but no longer had a country or a home to return to and then had to try manage living after witnessing and being subject to such atrocities. I’m sorry we failed you for so long. I’m sorry we didn’t help sooner.

I will never forget the feeling I had as I stood in the museum at Auschwitz, staring through the glass at the prosthetic legs, the crutches and all of the items that were left from all of the disabled people that had been sent through the gas chamber. They were some of the first. Then to see the piles and piles of shoes and of hair and of glasses from all of the Jewish people who murdered in those same chambers.

May we never let such hate reign again. May we never lose sight of each other’s humanity no matter how bad it gets and most importantly, may we never forget.

Ignorance can only truly be fought with knowledge and understanding. These are some of the most powerful books I’ve found on the Holocaust. I’ve provided the Amazon links but your local library or BookMooch are also great resources for them.

frankl

Man’s Search for Meaning

night

Night

3-minutes-in-poland

Three Minutes in Poland

3 thoughts on “Holocaust Remembrance Day

  1. I just purchased a copy of Night for my family last night. Remember a couple days ago when
    I wrote about understanding, and listening to another view? Nope. Not today. Thank you for sharing your incredible experience with the dignity and respect it deserves.

    1. That’s so awesome. It’s an incredible book. Elie Wiesel actually taught at my alma mater a few years ago and I always regretted not being able to try go see him on campus, especially after he passed away. Thank you for the positive feedback as always. Your blog is one of the things helping me get through all the craziness right now

Leave a Reply

