Why I’m Liberal

Right out of the gate I’m going to start by saying that this post is not going to be a proclamation of why you should be Liberal. I’m not here to stand on my soap box and try to convince people what their political beliefs should or shouldn’t be. One of the best things about the U.S. is that we can subscribe to any political beliefs or party that we want. I’m not here to say one side is right and the other is wrong. In fact, I think there’s way too much partisanship in America to begin with (from both sides). People focus too much on the labels and not on the issues,  but that’s a discussion for another time and place.

I want to share why I’m Liberal because it very much ties in with my having a disability. I wasn’t born with the same physical capabilities as other people. I just wasn’t. It wasn’t my fault nor was it my choice but it’s without a doubt, made me who I am today. Because I am sort of an “underdog,” I am able to have extreme empathy for people who I view as underdogs too. That underdog might be a homeless person with schizophrenia, might be someone who was raised in the projects in Compton, it might be someone else with a disability, a gay person, or another girl who struggles with her self-esteem and feels ugly sometimes too. People who have been born with their own struggles in life and had no choice in the matter either.

My political beliefs are something I hold very deeply and passionately because I care about people. I know what it’s like to grow up being different. I know what it’s like to get teased. I know what it’s like not to have the same options as other people. And it is my firm belief that we were put on this Earth not to just better ourselves but to help one another also.

I just finished reading How to Practice by the Dalai Lama and in it he says our purpose in life is to help alleviate the misery and suffering of other people and if we’re not able to that, then we at least shouldn’t cause them any harm. I’m definitely not always good at living by that but I think it sums up why I believe what I do politically and emotionally. It’s why I blog. It’s why I want to help people.

I felt very alone for a long time because I felt like no one else could possibly understand what I was going through because I had a disability. I don’t ever want someone else to feel that way, whether they have MD or not. I’m not saying people with other political beliefs don’t care about other people too, that’s just where the root of the Liberal belief is for me personally. I believe we are all equal because many decades ago, I would have been looked at as a societal pariah or an invalid (in some places I still might be viewed that way). If I can help even one person suffer less, even if just for a few minutes, or if I can help keep someone from harm, then I feel like I’ve done my duty as a human being here on this Earth.

You don’t have to agree with me, you don’t have to vote the way I vote, but what I believe is a huge part of my story and a huge part of who I am today and I wanted to share that part with you.

4 thoughts on “Why I’m Liberal

  1. Beautiful explanation of your political beliefs. It is hard to argue with a person who ties their views so well into personal experience.

    I would certainly consider myself liberal, though I am increasingly frustrated with America’s Democratic party and what I would call their not-so-liberal policies. Still, life is about options, and sometimes that involves picking the worst of two things!

    Looking forward to reading more of your posts.

  2. Just like all of us with disabilities, Jackie, we have to figure out a way to succeed away from the norm. For me it’s dare to be different, and go against the grain:-) Our doctors job is to help us along the way, but they all ask such stupid questions. As far as I’m concerned the word CAN”T has been removed from my vocabulary. I’ve made it my goal to defy them by getting out of this wheelchair, walk across the room and smack them across the face. I’m tired of hearing them all question why I go to a pool and gym to work my way to be able to walk again. My stock answer is now to prove them all wrong.:-) Quite a goal huh? Keep it up Kiddo. We are all proud at what you’re doing, because a couple of years ago you were ready to give up. Now you have a way to vent and I for one can see it really helps…:-):-):-)

  3. Makes perfect sense to me. You need hand-outs of some sort and Liberalism promises to give them to you. Self-interest is a simple fact of life and living, so is not caring caring about what those hand-outs will cost others, especially when those “others” are considered “privileged” because they don’t need hand-outs.

Leave a Reply

