Moving Forward

fc8a3eb0-400c-44d9-9378-d95b7a2e94ac

I couldn’t decide if I wanted to talk about the election or not. There’s been so much coverage on it and I think we’re all more than a little bit tired of hearing about it. But the results have been important especially for those of us who are female and disabled and this is a blog that very much revolves around those two things.

I won’t sugar coat how I feel about it. I’m heartbroken. I love my country and had a lot more faith in us than electing a reality TV star whose campaign platform was hate on a silver platter. I’ve gone through the gamut of emotions the past few days. From crying, to deep seated anger, to walking around like a zombie not knowing how to feel. As a disabled woman, I don’t know what my future holds now and I’m scared. When the leader of your country makes fun of those of us with disabilities (yes, even if it was just one time) and demeans women in the most disgusting manner, it can do nothing but leave you wondering where you’ll stand. Will people follow his example and take it as permission to treat people with disabilities even more poorly? Are some of my rights as a woman in the U.S. going to get taken away? This is just the tip of the iceberg. Depending on how the Supreme Court goes, I shudder to think what will happen to my gay friends who were finally able to legally get married. To our Muslim community that was already facing so much hatred because of the actions of others. To my friends who needed Obamacare to help pay for their disease that they had no control over getting in the first place.

None of us know for sure what will happen over the next 4 years and I certainly hope the people who voted for him are right that he will enact positive change. At this point I can’t see how, but unfortunately there’s nothing we can do about it now. The people who are rioting and burning cars and hurting Trump supporters are so blinded by their anger, they don’t even realize they’re doing the exact same thing that he did during his campaign: spreading hate. Bullying people like he has is never going to get anything done. If we want change, then we’re the ones that have to start the process and lead the way now. We may not have had a lot of control over this election or the results but we have control over what we can do now. And the same goes for the people writing swastikas all over the place, scribbling racial slurs on bathroom stalls, and people harassing Muslim people in the name of Trump. No matter which way you voted, we all have the power to enact positive change even if it’s just in the smallest ways. Everyone, no matter their political beliefs, has the power to be kind to each other. We all can choose how we react to situations no matter how angry or hurt or upset we might be.

One of the things I learned from the Mark Manson book I mentioned a couple of posts ago is that we have to learn to accept being wrong sometimes. We have to be open to being wrong so that we’re open to being able to learn. I’ll be completely honest that when it comes to certain things, especially personal beliefs and human rights,  I usually think I’m right and the opposition is wrong. Actually I still think that when it comes to human rights because everyone deserves them plain and simple. And I’m still pretty sure I’m not wrong about how the next 4 years will be. But I’m willing to at least think about the fact that maybe I don’t know everything and maybe I am wrong about all this. For all our sake, I certainly hope I am.

I’ll end this the way I usually do with these types of things…if you want to leave a negative comment, that’s fine. I open myself up to that when I share my beliefs publicly. But just like you have the right to do that, I have a right not to feed into any more negativity and to ignore it.

 

Leave a Reply

