Ripping the Tape Off

silence

I’m taking a page from the No8 campaign with this photo (one that I fully support), but for a much different reason. I recently celebrated another birthday and the older I get, the more of myself I feel like I become. And as I become more of myself, I no longer want to stay silent, especially not in the current climate we live in. I no longer want to stifle my voice for fear of offending others. I no longer want to be afraid that someone might argue with me because of my opinion. I’m no longer going to go along with what someone else tells me just because I want to be nice. If I don’t want to do it, I’m not going to. I will no longer stay silent about issues that matter not just to me but to people like me all over the world just because I don’t want to ruffle feathers. When others don’t seem to be concerned about the plight of others who might struggle. When they’re more than willing to break the law at the expense of someone else and then go home and have a nice dinner with their family without even giving it a second thought, then I can no longer keep the tape over my mouth. I’m no longer going to live in fear of what might happen if I do speak up. It’s time I start putting myself and others like me first. It’s time for a change.

Leave a Reply

